Minimal Arduino

One day, I came across a website, Adafruit when I was looking for small Arduino.  Why small Arduino?  My first impression of the Arduino Duemilanove was it could be smaller if there was no FTDI (serial-USB converter).  In many projects, I found it didn’t need FTDI once sketches were loaded.  There are only a handful parts such as crystal and capacitors and resistors around the ATmega328 chip.  Of course we need headers for digital and analog pins, but they are not necessarily that big.   I like small and compact gadgets.  So I searched internet and saw the Boarduino from Adafruit.

I also found more of those minimal Arduino ideas: here, here, here, here, and here I’m sure there would be more and more similar ideas.

So I decided to make my own small and cute Arduino and introduce it here as in my title picture of this blog.  I’ll post some pictures and procedure.

About

Opto-mechatronic Engineering scientist.

Posted in Arduino
2 comments on “Minimal Arduino
  1. […] minimizing the Arduino board, so called minimalist Arduino.  As I have already said before in this post, what I found in many cases was that I didn’t need the FTDI USB interface once the sketch was […]

  2. […] Anyway, after building this combination, even though it worked fine, I found there were lots of minimal Arduino compatible boards as mentioned in earlier post. […]

Leave a Reply

November 2010
S M T W T F S
    Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

